• EN
  • FR
Home   News   Simon Larose named honourary president of the Granby National Bank Challenger

Simon Larose named honourary president of the Granby National Bank Challenger

Montreal, May 10, 2017 – Former professional tennis player Simon Larose will assume the role of Honourary President for the 22nd edition of the Granby National Bank Challenger, which will be held from July 22-30, 2017.  

The native of Cap-de-la-Madeleine, Quebec, has been an important figure in Canadian tennis and has produced some memorable moments in his home province. The best player in the history of the Mauricie region, Larose was named Tennis Canada’s Player of the Year in 2003 and 2004. In 2003, at the Rogers Cup in Montreal, he played a tightly contested match against Andre Agassi, after having knocked out former world No. 1 Gustavo Kuerten in the opening round.  The following year, he reached a career-high ranking of no. 189 in the world. His impressive performances  secured him a spot in the Rogers Cup Hall of Fame.

“The Granby Challenger has always been a favourite stop on the tour for the players, including myself,” said Larose. “With the hundreds of volunteers and a first rate organizing committee, the players are treated extremely well, signs of a first-class tournament. I am expecting another great event in 2017, especially with the participation of some of our top Canadian players.”

Although Larose has hung up his racquet, he remains actively involved in tennis, as a coach. He has been the traveling coach for players such as Stéphanie Dubois, Rebecca Marino, and more recently Françoise Abanda. Today, Larose works for the women’s program at Tennis Canada’s National Training Centre in Montreal and also serves as a coach for the Canadian Fed Cup team.

After making eight appearances at the Granby Challenger as a player, Larose did not hesitate when asked to be the tournament’s Honourary President for 2017. With his outgoing personality and charisma, he has helped to make the tournament the success that it is today. Larose joins the ranks of former Honourary Presidents in Granby, such as Réjean Genois, Martin Laurendeau, Isabelle Charest, Mario Brisebois, Geneviève Brouillette, and Bruny Surin.


Feature photo: Nicolas Racine